Mooresville’s fast track to safe driving

Employment Opportunities

Drive! Driving School is currently looking for the right individuals to fill the following positions:

Driver’s Education Classroom Teacher

Job Description:
Provide 30 hours of classroom instruction to one class per month. Instructors are responsible for teaching students the rules of the road and the safest way to handle an automobile. Most students will be high-schoolers preparing for their first driver’s license. However, Drive! Driving School also provides instruction to adults (over 18) seeking training to obtain a NC Driver’s License for the first time, or a “refresher” course to review NC laws. Classes are held on weekends during school year, and Monday-Friday during the summer months and winter break.

Requirements:

  • Licensed through the State of North Carolina as a Commercial Driver Education School Instructor*
  • US Citizen
  • At least 25 years of age
  • Four years’ experience as a licensed motor vehicle operator
  • Background check: No felony convictions or misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude in the last ten years
  • No revocations or suspensions of driver’s license in the last five years
  • No convictions for moving violations totaling five or more points in the last three years
  • Drug free and willing to take a drug test upon request from Drive! Driving School
  • Background in teaching preferred but not required
  • College degree preferred but not required

Candidates may submit resumes here.

Behind-The-Wheel Instructor

Job Description:
The primary task of a driving instructor is to demonstrate how to safely operate a motor vehicle. Students in behind-the-wheel training will have completed classroom lessons in which they learned driving laws and driver courtesy. In addition to demonstrating these concepts behind the wheel, instructors will explain how a car operates, how to perform safety checks and what to do in an emergency. A Drive! Driving School instructor must be extremely patient, able to communicate well and be comfortable working with individuals of widely varying abilities. Instructors work with one to two students at a time. Most students will be high schoolers preparing for their first driver’s license. However, Drive! Driving School also provides instruction to adults (over 18) seeking training to obtain a NC Driver’s License for the first time, or “refresher” course to review NC laws.

Instructors are responsible for scheduling driving appointments, as well as maintaining all regulatory records required by the State of North Carolina. Instructors must track student attendance and performance and communicate results to the Drive! Driving School in a timely manner. Because most students will be teenagers, behind-the-wheel sessions usually will be scheduled on weekends or weekday evenings during the school year.

Requirements:

  • Licensed through the State of North Carolina as a Commercial Driver Education School Instructor*
  • US Citizen
  • At least 25 years of age
  • Four years’ experience as a licensed motor vehicle operator
  • Background check: No felony convictions or misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude in the last ten years
  • No revocations or suspensions of driver’s license in the last five years
  • No convictions for moving violations totaling five or more points in the last three years
  • Drug free and willing to take a drug test upon request from Drive! Driving School
  • Background in teaching preferred but not required
  • College degree preferred but not required

Drive! Driving School will provide a State Approved Vehicle with dual brake pedals, gas, regular vehicle maintenance, insurance and a mobile phone for scheduling student driving sessions.

Dress Code:

Drive! Driving School will provide instructors with shirts to wear during behind-the-wheel sessions. For summer, shirts will be short-sleeved. For cooler weather, long-sleeved shirts, as well as a Drive! Driving School jacket are available. Shoes must have a back; no flip
flops allowed. Students are not permitted to wear flip flops.

Candidates may submit resumes here.

*80-hour certification. There will be a Commercial Driver Education School Instructor class offered in Huntersville, October 17-28,  from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. each day